Find a gig that fits your lifestyle
Most lists of side gigs assume you drive, own a computer and can stand for hours.
This one asks first. Answer two questions and see only the work you can take.
Gigs we checked, one at a time
-
Priced by room or by goal
You sort, declutter, and build storage systems in someone's closets, garage, kitchen, or home office. You set your own price, by the room or as a flat fee. Nobody publishes what a self-employed organizer takes home. This work means lifting boxes and making decisions about someone else's belongings, not scrubbing or hauling.
- On your feet
- Car helps
- Phone helps
- No computer needed
First money: You can get paid the same day you finish a job, once you have a first customer.
-
$25-50 an hour
DataAnnotation's FAQ says General track work starts at $25-$50 an hour.
DataAnnotation pays you to check AI work, like chatbot replies. Its FAQ says General work starts at $25-$50 an hour. First you pass a one-try test.
- Work from home
- Phone helps
- Computer helps
- No car needed
First money: Not stated. Approval takes a few days. Then you verify your ID and do your first project.
-
$8-12 an hour
$8 an hour is the floor Prolific sets for researchers.
Answer questions online for pay. Prolific sets an $8 an hour floor for researchers. You need an ID and a PayPal account, and a waitlist comes first.
- Work from home
- No car needed
- Can sit
- Free to start
First money: Not stated. The waitlist runs from hours to months or longer.
See every gig
Four rules we do not break.
- Every pay figure has a source and the date we checked it.
- Every gig page says what is bad about the work, not just what is good.
- Nobody pays to be listed here. Nobody pays to be ranked.
- When a platform will not say what it pays, or we cannot read its page, we say that instead of guessing. See what we found on 19 platforms.
From the blog
-
Gig sites print different dollar lines for when they send a 1099 tax form. Most say $600 and name no year. The IRS prints $2,000 for payments made after 2025. Checked Nov 1; one page Oct 11.
-
DoorDash explains how Dasher pay is built and prints a few dollar amounts. On its pay page and help pages, it prints no national total for what Dashers earn. One blog post does print an hourly average. Checked Oct 28 to Nov 2.
-
Among the platforms on this site, we found no sign-up fee on the pages we read. Several say joining is free. But some keep a cut of your pay. Some charge to cash out. Some send you to a state office for a paid license. Checked Oct 21 and Nov 1.
All posts